Select Page

Santiago Vaquera-Vásquez

Thursday, September 28th, 2017

Time and Location:
2:00-3:30pm, Waters Room, Zimmerman Library

Lecture Title:
Imagining Something Better: Punk, Tejano, La Bamba, and Other Rolas from My Border Hi-Fi


With a focus on narrative soundscapes from borderlands communities, this presentation reflects on the ways that music —in particular, Chicana/o punk— can examine complicity, entanglement and compromise in relation to nation, identity, migration and globalization.

Unrepentant border crosser, writer, ex-dj, and academic. Santiago Vaquera-Vásquez is an Associate Professor of US Southwestern Literatures, and Creative Writing in the Department of Spanish, and Portuguese at the University of New Mexico. Has lectured and taught at universities across the United States, Latin America, and Europe. Author of four collections of short stories, Algún día te cuento las cosas que he visto (2012), Luego el silencio (2014), One Day I’ll Tell You the Things I’ve Seen (2015), and En el Lost ‘n Found (2016). His academic work focuses on US Latino cultural expression, and US/Mexico border cultures.

Heterophony: Texture, Technique, and Social Commentary

This lecture is in two parts: the first draws from my research on the 1960s jazz avant-garde and musicians’ interests in heterophonic musical textures. For the second part, I perform original music that utilizes heterophony and “noise” in a solo electronic and improvised format.

The Gay West: From Drug Store Cowboys to Rodeo Queens

The masculine ideal represented by the American cowboy is variously interpreted by spectators, dancers, musicians, and contestants at gay rodeos and country western dances across the U.S. Examining embodied gender practices within these communities, this talk articulates the sonic, social, and geographical spaces of the gay American West.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This