My dancing day: music for christmas

Las Cantantes
Maxine Thévenot, director

Lynn Gorman DeVelder, harp
Iain Quinn, organ
Jeff Cornelius, percussion
Claudia Giese, oboe

CD Cover

From the Liner Notes:

The University of New Mexico’s Women’s Ensemble—known as Las Cantantes—is comprised of a select auditioned group of singers each semester. The ensemble was founded by Professor Bradley Ellingboe in 1994. During his fourteen-year tenure as their director, the group collaborated with such important musical figures as Libby Larsen and Dave Brubeck and has enjoyed masterclasses by such eminent musicians as Alice Parker and Moses Hogan. Also during his tenure, Las Cantantes toured in Louisiana, Mississippi and Oklahoma, where they sang for the American Choral Directors Association Regional Convention. The group has been under the direction of Dr. Maxine Thévenot since Fall 2007.

Track List:

01) Psallite, by Michael Praetorius (1571-1621), arr. by Norman Gregson

02) Ave Mundi Gloria, by Jean Langlais (1907-1991)

St. Luke Service, by Frederick Frahm (b. 1964)
03) Magnificat
04) Nunc dimittis

05) Balulalow, Antony Baldwin (b. 1957)

06) Maria, Mater gratiae, Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)

07) Magnificat, Bradley Ellingboe (b. 1958)

08) Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming, Traditional; harp solo arr. by Susann McDonald & Linda Wood

09) Christmas Lullaby, Scottish folk melody, arr. by Malcolm Dalglish (b. 1952)

Dancing Day, A cycle of traditional Christmas carols arr. by John Rutter (b. 1945)
10) Prelude
11) Angelus ad Virginem
12) A virgin most pure
13) Personent hodie
14) Interlude
15) There is no rose
16) The Coventry Carol
17) Tomorrow shall be my dancing day

18) A la Ru, a la Me, Traditional folk song of Northern New Mexico, arr. by Bradley Ellingboe (b. 1958)

19) Apple Tree Wassail, Traditional British Carol, arr. by Stephen Hatfield (b. 1956)

20) Silent Night, Franz Gruber (1787-1863), arr. by John Rutter (b. 1945)

21) Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, Hugh Martin (b. 1914) & Ralph Blane (1914-1995), arr. by Bradley Ellingboe

Recording Information:

Recorded at The Cathedral Church of St. John, Albuquerque,New Mexico, May 200

Recording Engineer, editing and mixing: Brent Stevens, SoundcatNM, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Mastering: Sid Fendley, Mountain Road Studios, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Cover photographs: Lindsey Borders, dancer; Kyle Zimmerman Photography, Albuquerque, New Mexico

©2008 Raven Recordings, OAR-980


Last updated on Wednesday, January 1, 2014 8:07 PM



© The University of New Mexico
:: UNM ::
College of Fine Arts :: Department of Music ::

:: Academics :: Department Areas :: Ensembles :: Faculty & Staff :: News & Events ::
:: Prospective Students :: Resources :: UNM Music :: Contact Us ::

Center for the Arts :: Department of Music
MSC04 2570 :: 1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001
(505) 277-2126